Soap Dish Victory!

This is what victory looks like on Autism Hill:

I bought this soap dish a long time ago, intending to dart it to the mirror in the main bathroom. Which I did, only without getting Luke’s or Kate’s approval. Every time I would go in the bathroom after that, I’d find the soap pieces around the top of the shower stall (where they’ve always gone) and the dish itself under the sink. After about a week of re-darting, I surrendered.

However, I just put new floors in both bathrooms and swapped in new fixtures, too. In that process, I rediscovered the abandoned soap dish (still under the old sink) and figured I’d give it a try in our back-up bathroom. With the overwhelming new tiles, toilet, and sinks to contend with, I thought the soap dish might have escaped their notice. But to my surprise, not only did I get buy in to leave the soap dish alone, but now Luke and Kate are also putting soap pieces from both bathrooms in the dish.

Not to say this buy-in didn’t come at a price. Cathy used to like using the soap pieces for a preemptive defogging of the main bathroom’s mirror. Now she has to use the bars we’re still working on, or leave be the mirror. Small price to pay, I think. Cathy disagrees, but sometimes she’s so neurologically typical I don’t even know why she lives here. And if you are thinking, “Why’s he going on about a soap dish?” I guess you aren’t so autistic either. For every time Luke and Kate go along with changing a placement, making a replacement, or especially adding something new, there are at least a hundred such changes they’ve rejected repeatedly, adamantly, and with finality. So I’m feeling justifiably jazzed about their soap dish concordance.

Leave a comment