Aluminum Foiled

I wrote about Kate’s screen door undoings last week. So with balanced fairness I’m turning this entry to something Luke undoes regularly. With both rolls of plastic wrap and aluminum foil, as soon as we bring them into the kitchen (and once he has had a chance to be alone with them), Luke removes the little serrated cutter that comes attached to the edge of their cardboard openings. Of course this makes it tough to tear off a length of aluminum foil (and all but impossible to get a length of plastic wrap) without resorting to scissors. And of course Cathy and I keep the kitchen scissors locked up because of (yes, you guessed it) Luke.

Why he does this, or even feels the need to do it, is a question not important enough to make even the top 25 of my after-life-questions-for-Luke list. Why Cathy and I don’t lock up the plastic wrap and aluminum foil rolls is the easier question to answer. At least under the current arrangement, Luke is making the task tough to do every time. If Cathy and I lock the rolls away from him, we’d be the ones making the task tough every time.

At least with Kate’s screen door undoing, I can hold out a hope of making a repair. Once removed, those serrated edges don’t go back on in any good way.

Leave a comment